top of page

Sound Project


This was a piece, was my part of the collaborative project. As a group of five we agreed upon the fact that we had the opportunity and chance to really push the boundaries as young practicing artists, and could also use each others imputative ideas as well as bounce off each others response's to the chosen subject; the chosen subject being 'Mind body & Soul'.

Initially we did a group interview, where one was to be filmed by two cameras from different angles, whilst being interviewed by the rest of the group. During the interview the group member being questioned was asked about their interests and simple conversational matters, such as where the jewellery they were wearing was from etc. This proved to be a good starting point as we each individually dissected the interview, and naturally responded in different ways.

Whilst doing the project we tended to drift off and concentrated more so on our own individual responses to the first work, the interview; however we managed to find a common connection within our own works, that notably linked up our individual work.

I responded to the collaborative interview by trying to represent the audio sound of the overlapping voices that could be heard on the audio recording from the interview. I found that some voices were more predominant than others, which I found interesting and wanted to somehow portray this through drawing. I wanted to create depth in my fine liner drawings, so I considered drawing with an isometric approach. I wanted the viewer to feel as though they could travel through sound. I also considered from the recording, visually everybody's body language, and what each body gesture psychologically meant. From research I learnt how to interpret certain body language gestures, such as when one touches their neck during conversation it may indicate concern about what the person is saying. I found this very interesting and learnt that almost 99% of what we are actually saying is irrelevant, as most of what we are communicating is through the use of body language. I learnt that people also comfort themselves by fidgeting with their hands or playing with an object or material in front of them, this then led me on to making up mini wire sculptures to not only represent the sound but also to represent the self consciousness that one may feel when being interviewed; and therefore feels the need to fidget or play with something.

I further developed the initial idea of interpreting sound through drawings, by deciding to digitally print the drawings onto a floaty material, to represent the sound travelling through space; as if they were floating. I did five digitally printed drawings ( as seen above) to represent the five group members' voices that I heard in the interview recording. This turned out to be the final idea to put towards the final piece.

bottom of page